Proving that old adage that old punks don’t die, they get together and kick up a storm, punk supergroup The Professionals have announced the release of their new album, What In The World, on October 27. And its stellar cast reads like a Who’s Who of the Class of ’77.

Originally formed from the ashes of the Sex Pistols by guitarist Steve Jones and drummer Paul Cook, The Professionals released just one album, I Didn’t See It Coming, in 1981 before breaking up the following year. Jones moved to the States where he became something of a guitarist-for-hire and playing with Iggy Pop among others while Cook produced pop trio Bananarama before lending his talents to Edwin Collins and Vic Goddard And The Subway Sect.

Steve Jones appears on just three of the album’s tracks as he decided he preferred to the stay in America. His place has been taken by new frontman Tom Spencer who joins Cook and bassist Paul Myers.

“In the studio we put the songs down as a three piece but what was needed was a second guitarist’s mind, to come from another angle,” say the band. “Cookie dusted off his punk rock address book and made a few calls. All the guests added their own unique magic.”

And that’s some guest list. The band’s new album features contributions from Duff McKagen (Guns N’ Roses), Mick Jones (The Clash), Phil Collen (Def Leppard), Marco Pirroni (Adam & The Ants), Chris McCormack (3 Colours Red) and Billy Duffy (The Cult).

The band celebrate the launch of the album with a gigs in Wolverhampton and London.

The Professionals play:


27 – Wolverhampton, Slade Rooms
28 – London, The Garage

What In The World track listing is:

01. Good Man Down feat. Steve Jones & Billy Duffy
02. Let Go feat. Phil Collen
03. Going, Going, Gone feat. Steve Jones & Billy Duffy
04. Extremadura feat. Mick Jones & Victoria Liedtke
05. Rewind feat. Phil Collen
06. Hats Off feat. Duff McKagen & Chris McCormack
07. New Generation feat. Marco Pirroni
08. Take Me Now feat. Steve Jones, Billy Duffy & Marco Pirroni
09. Bad Baby
10. Monkeys feat. Duff McKagen & Phil Collen